New Zealand

Ancestors of the Maori arrive by canoe from other parts of Polynesia. Their name for the country is Aotearoa (land of the long white cloud).
First settlers
Maori people arrived in New Zealand from eastern Polynesia
1642 – Dutch explorer Abel Tasman sights the south island and charts some of the country’s west coast. It subsequently appears on Dutch maps as Nieuw Zeeland, named after the Dutch province of Zeeland.
1769 – British captain James Cook explores coastline, also in 1773 and 1777.
1815 – First British missionaries arrive.
1840 – Treaty of Waitangi between British and several Maori tribes pledges protection of Maori land and establishes British law in New Zealand.

Showing all 4 results